Preserving History and Heritage

Each year AAFM contributes to the preservation of the missileer heritage and contributes to the missileer community through our grants and awards.

Missile Heritage Grant Program

AAFM provides approximately $10,000 each year to museums for missile displays. To date we have funded more than $281,000 in projects at more than 30 museums. We honor members who have passed away in the year before the grants are awarded by providing the grants in their memory.

Members - If you are aware of a museum with missile displays that is not on our mailing list for grant applications, let us know and we will add the museum.

Museums - We mail applications in October of each year. We recommend that you request grants in the $1,000 - $3,000 range, to allow us to fund several grants per year.  Specific instructions are included in the applications we mail to you each year. To see a list of Grants AAFM has provided and members honored click here.

2020 Missile Heritage Grants

A committee of three board members, Bob Parker, Jock Dodson and Mike Kenderes, reviewed eight applications for 2020 grants. We funded 4 of the 6 grants for a total of $8,200.

The 2020 projects we funded were:

$2,000 to Peterson Air and Space museum for Minuteman III display enhancement project

$1,200 to Ronald Reagan Minuteman Missile SHS for computers to allow visitor to interface with missile history

$2,000 to Western Museum of Flight to develop a missile historical display

$3,000 to the Warren ICBM & Heritage Museum for Missile Display Graphics.

When you visit one of these museums, ensure you stop by and tell the leadership that you are an AAFM member and a supporter of our grant program. 

Members Honored

The 2020 grants were provided in memory of the members that passed away since our last grant cycle and are:

MSgt (ret) Roy Aldridge, 1Lt Bruce Blair, Brig Gen (ret) Elmer Brooks, SSgt Ron Barrett-Smith, Lt Gen (ret) Al Casey, MSgt (ret) William Cox, Col (ret) Al Davey, Maj (ret) George Dersheimer, Maj Dan Finn, Gen (ret) John Gordon, Col (ret) Robert Hamilton, CMSgt (ret) Ben Hines, CMSgt (ret) Richard Hochheiser, Col (ret) Mike Jackson, TSgt Austin Johnson, Major (ret) Carl King, Capt Steve Kubiak, Major (ret) Vincent Maes, Col (ret) Howard McWilliams, Major (ret) Don Mullins, Lt Col (ret) Greg Murphy, Lt Col (ret) Charles Tripp, Col (ret) Edgar Northrop, Sgt Harvey Pyle, Major (ret) James Rosskopf, Col (ret) Julius Sanks, Lt Col (ret) Gene Sisk, Col (ret) Les Wiley, A1C Cyril Weinmann, Capt (ret) Gerald Young

For the list of grants and members honored to date, click here

General Samuel Phillips Award for Operations

AAFM Award Programs

General Samuel Phillips Award for Operations

Originally awarded annually by Air Force Space Command and now by Air Force Global Strike Command, to the outstanding missile operations squadron. General Phillips was a pioneer in intercontinental ballistic missile development.

The Colonel Edward Payne Award for Maintenance

Originally awarded annually by Air Force Space Command to the missile maintenance squadron that does the most to improve the quality of life for maintenance technicians. In 2008, AFSPC changed the award to a series of individual awards for outstanding maintenance personnel, and in 2009, the award was transitioned to the new Air Force Global Strike Command.

Colonel Payne, who passed away in 2010, served both at Vandenberg and Ellsworth as a missile maintenance squadron commander and Deputy Commander for Maintenance.

Mailing address:

17714 Cherokee St

Broomfield, CO 80023 

The Association of Air Force Missileers

is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software