Missile Heritage Grants

Missile Heritage Grant Program - Each year, AAFM provides $10,000 or more to museums for missile displays. To date, we have funded more than $280,000 in projects at more than 30 museums. We honor members who have passed away in the year before the grants are awarded by providing the grants in their memory.

Members - If you are aware of a museum with missile displays that is not on our mailing list for grant applications, let us know and we will add the museum.

Museums - We mail applications in the fall each year.  We recommend that you request grants in the $1,000 - $3,000 range, to allow us to fund several grants per year.  Specific instructions are included in the applications we mail to you each year.

To See a list of Grants AAFM has provided and members honored Click Here


2017 Missile Heritage Grants - A committee of three board members, Bob Parker, Mike Kenderes and Mark Silliman, reviewed seven applications for grants this year totalling $13,126. The board decided to once again increase our annual total over the normal $10,000 amount, so we funded all seven of the projects, Projects we funded included $1,350 for the Plattsburgh Museum to refurbish an Atlas F launch console, $2,000 for the Peterson Air and Space Museum to improve lighting in the ICBM display area, $3,000 to the National Museum of Nuclear Science in Albuquerque to restore a Thor missile, $1,100 to the Jacksonville, AR,  Museum of Military History to refurbish a Titan II RFHCO suit, $3,000 to the San Diego Air and Space Museum to restore their Atlas missile, $1,500 to the Ronald Reagan Minuteman Missile State Historic Site, Oscar-Zero, to repair garage doors at the launch control facility and $1,176 to the Patrick Air Force Space and Missile Museum for interpretive story boards for restored missile displays. When you visit one of these museums, ensure you stop by and tell the leadership that you are an AAFM member and a supporter of our grant program. You have provided over a quarter million dollars to museums since 1993.

The 2017 grants were provided in memory of the members that passed away since our last grant cycle and are: Lt Col (Ret) Bruce Ackert, MSgt (Ret) Steven M. Beauchesne, SMSgt (Ret) John A. Bilotta, Brig Gen (Ret) William R. Brooksher, Capt (Ret) Peter A. Correll, Jr., MSgt (Ret) Buster J. Davis, CMSgt (Ret) Ronald L. Eissner, MSgt (Ret) Virgil Emmert, Col (Ret) John P. Gibeau, Former Sgt Robert J. Guillory, Lt Col (Ret) Richard A. Gunst, CMSgt (Ret) Richard S. Hixson, Former Capt Denis J. Hughes, Col (Ret) Larry B. Hughes, Lt Col (Ret) Arnold E. Hurst, Lt Col (Ret) Richard M. (Moody) Johnson, Lt Col (Ret) Daniel T. Kuehl, Col (Ret) Lawrence
Langlois, Col (Ret) Hugh M. Matheson, Lt Col (Ret) James P. McHugh, Maj Gen (Ret) Thomas H. Neary, Capt (Ret) Roy Parker, Col (Ret) Henry W. Poos, SMSgt (Ret) Alroy I. Robinson, Jr., Charles E. Stanbery and Lt Col (Ret) Pierre A. Tisdale.